In Virginia, a first DWI is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, which can carry a sentence of up to 1 year in jail, a fine of up to $2500, and a suspended license. To get a restricted license, you must attend programs that act as your de facto probation. In addition, as of last year, you need to install an ignition interlock breathalyzer device to obtain a restricted license in Virginia.
Virginia courts often enact lighter sentences for "standard first" DWIs. Without aggravating factors such as excessive intoxication, dangerous behavior, or criminal history, you may receive this lighter sentence. Some jurisdictions require some active jail time, but many jurisdictions stick to the VASAP program and suspended license for "standard first" DWIs.
If you have a question for James, visit JustAskBenGlass.com.