What are the texting and driving laws in Virginia. As of July 1, 2013, texting while driving is a primary offense in Virginia. This means that a police officer can pull you over just for texting while driving. If an officer pulls you over, they can also check for other violations. The first ticket for texting while driving is $125. If you are ticketed for the same offense a second time, the fine doubles to $250. There are exceptions to this new law. You can still use your cell phone as a GPS, and you can text if you are legally parked or legally stopped.
If you have a question for James, visit JustAskBenGlass.com.