Texting and Driving: a Primary Offense in Virginia

As of July 1, 2013, texting while driving is a primary offense in Virginia.  This means that you no longer have to be breaking some other law in order to receive a ticket for texting.  Now, an officer can pull you over and give you a ticket if they only see you texting while driving.  If they pull you over for texting and driving, the officer can also look for other violations.

For you first texting and driving offense, the ticket is $125.  If you are ticketed for the same offense a second time, the fine doubles to $250.  

If you have a question for James, visit JustAskBenGlass.com.