The dangers of texting and driving are well known, and in some states it is illegal. Texting and driving is a primary offense in Virginia. A primary offense means a police officer can pull you over if they see you texting and driving. A ticket for texting and driving can cost you $125, and a second offense can cost you $250.
There are some exceptions to this law. You are still allowed to use GPS, and you can use your cell phone when you are legally stopped or parked. However, these exceptions can complicate situations, since the prosecutors now have to identify if you were using your phone legally or not.
Since police officers can pull you over for texting and driving, they can use the infraction as a pretext to investigate your car for other crimes. A ticket for texting and driving can become a bigger charge if you are driving with out-of-date registration or if the officer suspects you were drinking and driving.
Texting and driving can have implications in personal injury cases too. If you are the victim of a car accident, but you are accused of texting and driving, you can lose your personal injury case in Virginia because of contributory negligence laws.
If you are worried about your car accident case, download our free report Five Deadly Sins that can Wreck Your Injury Claim. If you have a question about criminal traffic charges, visit our website or call (703)584-7277.