Uninsured Motorist Coverage May Not Have Seemed Important – Until You Were in a Virginia Car Accident

There are so many careless drivers on the road today. You can see these people texting and driving, talking on cell phones, eating and even grooming, when they should be paying attention to the road.  What is even more alarming is that some of these individuals may be driving recklessly without car insurance.

People can legally drive in Virginia with no auto insurance, as our state has a strange law where they can get away with paying a $500 fee in lieu of purchasing insurance coverage.  It’s a stupid thing to do, but you would be surprised at the number of people who go this route. That means there are countless drivers on the road without means to pay if they cause serious injury to someone else. If you get in an accident with an irresponsible driver, you better hope your insurance will cover your damages.

Even for drivers who do have auto insurance, Virginia law only requires a minimum coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person or $50,000 per collision.  That is not a lot of money when you are left with a lifelong injury that requires extensive medical treatment and long-term care.

You need to have uninsured motorist coverage as part of your policy and you need to have a high limit.  Otherwise, if you end up in a Virginia car accident with some person who decided not to pay the money for insurance, you will be left with a mountain of bills.  And believe me, it does happen.
 

Ben Glass
Ben Glass is a nationally recognized Virginia injury, medical malpractice, and long-term disability attorney
1 Comments
I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else!
by Hannah Belly March 4, 2011 at 08:09 AM
Post a Comment