A Manassas car accident might have left you with a broken leg or bruised ribs. It could have caused a concussion or neck injury. Just because you were hurt, though, doesn’t automatically entitle you to damages. This is especially true in Virginia, where contributory negligence law reigns supreme.
In Virginia, if the other driver was 99 percent responsible for the accident and you were only 1 percent responsible, you won’t be collecting a penny. There is a legal doctrine known as contributory negligence that plays a factor when determining the outcome of a personal injury case. Basically, this law says that if you contributed to your accident or injury in any way, you will not be eligible to recover money from the other party.
Be Ready to Prove ItThe fact that you were hurt in a car accident is not enough to win your case. You have to prove that the other driver was completely at fault for the accident. It needs to be shown that this person’s carelessness resulted in your injuries. If you can’t prove this or if you sue the wrong person, you are most likely going to lose your case. It’s as simple as that.
If you are not sure if you were partly responsible for the accident, contact a Manassas car accident attorney for advice. Most personal injury lawyers offer free initial consultations, so you should be able to get some valuable insight at no charge.
To get answers to your questions, contact us today at 703-591-9829. We have a satellite office now open in Manassas conveniently located to help you.
For more information about auto accident claims, order the book, Five Deadly Sins That Can Wreck Your Injury Claim.