In this section of Just Ask Ben Glass guest expert James Abrenio explains what can happen after getting a DWI.
In Virginia, a DWI is a class one misdemeanor. The first DWI in Virginia could mean up to one year in jail, up to $2500 in fines, and a suspended license. They may also give you a restricted license in which case you must take the ASAP once a week for 10 weeks.
They will also require you to install an ignition interlock in your car in order to prevent you from drunk driving again. If you do in fact attempt to drive drunk again, the car will shut it self out and it will automatically report it to ASAP, which acts like your probation officer.
For a standard DUI they don’t focus on jail time. The focus on suspending your license and putting you in probation, and if you fail to behave during your probationary period, it could result in some jail time.