You May Not Need a Lawyer for Your Legal Issue,
but We Are Here to Help You!

The information in our free books, CDs and DVDs may surprise you! View a list of our free instant download reports and books about car accidents, worker's compensation, disability insurance appeals, and more...

BenGlassLaw is dedicated to educating Virginians about personal injury, long-term disability, and insurance appeals cases so they can hire an attorney with confidence. We believe in "giving away" our legal knowledge, enabling people to make the best choices for their case.

Before you talk to an adjuster or sign any forms, browse our library of FREE books and articles about personal injury, long-term disability, and insurance appeals claims.

The BenGlassLaw 25% Fee Agreement for Personal Injury Claims

All of our injury cases are handled on a contingency fee basis. What that means is, there's no upfront cost to the client and there's no hourly rate, so you won't get a ledger at the end of the case. A percentage of the recovery is the attorney's fee. A contingent fee is very common in personal injury cases, and almost every personal injury attorney in the United States operate on a contingent fee basis.

The standard personal injury fee is typically a third of the recovery. For example, if your case settles for $100,000 your personal injury attorney's fee is $33,333.

Our Fee is Different. We Charge a Sliding Fee.

Our personal injury fees are 25% of the recovery if we settle your case without ever filing a lawsuit, AND our fee is 25% of your recovery if we file a lawsuit, and settle the case any time before 90 days before trial. If we get within 90 days before trial, that's really when all the work happens, and so our fee goes up 33% of the settlement.

While most personal injury attorneys will charge you a flat 33%, we charge less depending on when we settle your claim. The reason for this is most casework happens in the 90 days before trial. If your case settles before this period, we've done less work and therefore charge our clients less.

The only cases our personal injury team handles are auto accidents, dog bites, and slip and fall cases. We're not reviewing contracts, we're not doing criminal defense, and so we don't have to reinvent the wheel and do all the research on all of these cases. We're an efficient machine, and we're good at what we do, and we know personal injury law in Virginia. We are better at using our time and our energy, and we can pass those cost savings along to the clients.

We're an efficient machine and we're good at what we do, and we know personal injury law in Virginia. We are better at using our time and our energy, and we can pass those cost savings along to the clients.

Important exclusions to our 25% fee agreement: Our firm does handle medical malpractice cases and long-term disability appeals cases. Those are much more time-intensive from day one, from the time that they come into the office, and much more expensive for us from day one. In those cases, we have a different fee structure.

Your First Personal Injury Consultation is Free - You Don't Pay us Anything Until the Settlement!

Answers to the Top 5 Questions About Car Accident Cases in Virginia

  1. "Is it possible to settle my own case if I was not injured and there was only property damage?"
    Yes, and we've published a report you can download for free. But the truth is that you should still speak to an attorney about your case, especially if you've been injured in an accident.
     
  2. "Should I speak to the insurance adjuster?"
    You should read this page first, but yes, you can. Just make sure you're informed about your rights. Keep in mind, anything you say to an insurance adjuster can be used against you in your claim.
     
  3. "Should I sign the medical records release for the insurance adjuster?"
    You can if you don't care who sees your confidential medical records. (By the way, you probably should care who sees that information!)
     
  4. "What is 'contributory negligence' in a car accident case?"
    Virginia has a harsh 1% rule. If you are at fault even 1%, you will not have a case. It is essential that you find an attorney that will be honest with you about this 1% rule.
     
  5. "Who will pay my medical bills until my case is settled?"
    If you have health insurance, submit your bills to your health insurance company. If you don't have health insurance, you will need to arrange payments with your doctor or hospital. Avoid letting your bills go to collections because that can hurt your credit.

Top 4 Questions About Long Term Disability Cases

  1. "Does my last day of work affect my long-term disability claim?"
    The day that you stop working is an incredibly important factor in your long-term disability claim. You'll ultimately have to justify this decision to your insurance company.
     
  2. "Should I apply for Social Security Benefits and Long Term Disability Benefits?"
    If you are disabled, you can apply for both social security and long-term disability benefits. If you are approved for social security benefits, you may be required to pay back your long-term disability company.
     
  3. "Should you hire an attorney for your first long-term disability appeal?"
    Some can file their initial appeal successfully, while others should consult with an attorney first. For more information, you can download Don't Try This at Home, my free guide on long-term disability cases.
     
  4. "Why are long-term disability benefits usually denied?"
    There are two main reasons an insurance company would deny your claim. 1) You do not meet the conditions for being disabled as defined in your contract or, 2) You are a victim of a frivolous denial of your claim.


BenGlassLaw has offices to help you with your case in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach and Williamsburg.

Representation in jurisdictions where we are not already licensed is performed in conjunction with local counsel–at no additional legal fees to the client–and with permission of the court.


"Thanks Ben, you are not like the attorneys they talk about on TV... thank you for this information."

Remember, when you order one of our consumer information packages (on injuries and car accidents, Virginia worker's compensation, or long-term disability), you get a FREE, no-obligation mailing right to your door with the tools you need to make smart choices about your case.  Plus, you'll get our non-boring, non-lawyer-like consumer newsletter (it's got a great monthly recipe column), all of which is designed to make you a smarter consumer BEFORE you talk to that adjuster, hire a lawyer or sign any forms.

You can always call our main office in Fairfax, VA, and speak to one of our assistants to arrange an appointment with one of our attorneys by calling 703-584-7277.

We can help you with settling a Virginia car accident case, appealing your insurance claim, reinstating disability benefits after being denied or terminated, and more.